I have been thinking…

So I was thinking…I talk a lot about being motivated and drive.  That is something the comes from within a person.  I also believe that it comes with knowledge.  Comfort and familiarity.  When I first started going to the gym I only did cardio and only got on 2 of the machines of the 8 they have to offer.  I didn’t dare try something new!  I could fall off lol!  I might look silly because I don’t know how to use it correctly!  It might be too hard for me to do!

The other thing I talk about is change!  If what you’re doing isn’t bringing the change you’re looking for then do something new!  I eventually mustered up the confidence to try out all of those machines.  I also learned how to use free weights and all of the other machines in my gym.  I actually enjoy all of them now!  I used to get on my old faithful machines and watch almost study the people on the machines I wanted to learn.  I found the courage to get on and hit the green button.  The green button has to start the darn thing right?  Well guess what?  It did!  It wasn’t hard either!  It was such a nice change from the same machines I had been doing for all that time!  So machine by machine I learned them all.  I will admit I have my favorites and use those the most.  As for the free weights and machines I did the same thing.  I watched closely trying to in grain into my mind what the person was doing.  I realized once I got close enough to the machine that there was this really cool picture on the side and directions!  HUH!  Who would have known lol!  With the picture/directions and watching others I was on my way.  I gained confidence over time and when I saw a familiar face I would ask them for help.  Free weights took a bit more work.  I looked a lot up online and tried the motion at home.  I also would sometimes pin them on my Pinterest and bring my phone in to the gym to refer to them while there.  With knowledge comes power they say…  With my knowledge, comfort & drive I now have power and by power I mean I actually have some muscles:)

I hope this blog helps you to realize what you don’t know shouldn’t scare you it should challenge you to find a way to get to know something new!

Happy Monday!  Make it a good week!

2 thoughts on “I have been thinking…

  1. I used to be nervous of the weight machines b/c I felt like they were only for body builder types…. Once someone showed me how to be comfortable on them, they became my favorites!! I LOVE worked my shoulders and arms… I’m always a little nervous walking into classes too, but they are the only reason why I would go to the gym. I LOVE classes!! Good for you for pushing yourself to new limits!! It’s a great feeling:) Thanks for the post! xo

Leave a Reply

