Continuing the journey with an Injury!

I have worked through pain before!  When this journey began and I would run on the treadmill my lungs would burn.  That is the pain you fight through.  An injury is different.  We have to respect our body and the consultation of a doctor, chiropractor or therapist.  I recently was involved in a car accident in which a car struck my vehicle from behind causing issues with my back, neck and shoulder.  These injuries were not serious but still had to be respected.

It was so difficult for me to go to the gym everyday like my normal routine and not be able to do what I would normally do!  I had to lower the weight during strength training.  I had to give up most of my cardio workout too because my back and tailbone were in such pain.  I had to really think about what exercises I did to not cause more pain.  Sometimes I would do an exercise and realize…um that was not a good idea!  I ran on the treadmill and had tears in my eyes because my back hurt so bad but my head said push through because I am so used to pushing myself hard.  After 5 minutes I realized I was being stupid!  This has been the hardest 6 weeks to find my way though.  I am a creature of habit and the gym is my sanctuary.  I know I am not the only one that has been through this!  Keeping positive, seeing my chiropractor, eating well and respecting what my body was telling me has allowed me to remain on my journey and not feel like I fell off track!

I signed up for the Spring Lake 5 mile run a long time ago.  It is this coming weekend and running has been out of my life for about 6 weeks or more so my plan is to go and do the best I can and listen to my body.  I just want to finish!

Have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend all!  Here is a great recipe for a healthier version of ice cream I made!

1 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 2 ripe bananas, 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder, 1 Tbsp. cocoa powder and 2 Tbsp. sugar.

  1. In a microwaveable bowl or cup whisk 1/2 cup almond milk with the chocolate cocoa,  protein powder and sugar until fully incorporated. Microwave for 40 seconds and then stir.
  2. Place bananas plus the remainder of the almond milk into a blender along with the cocoa mixture and puree for about 10 seconds.
  3. Place mixture in the ice cream maker and process for 20 minutes or until thick.
  4. Serve right away or store in the freezer for later use.  I take mine out for a few minutes before serving so it’s not so hard:)  Hope you love it as much as I do!
2 thoughts on “Continuing the journey with an Injury!

Leave a Reply

