Preparedness

This journey we are on requires preparation.  You prepare yourself to leave the house in the rain with an umbrella right?  You prepare for a snowstorm!  So why wouldn’t you prepare yourself for your health and wellness journey?  This is one of the most important journeys you will ever go on!  If you need this journey it’s not just to look cute in your bathing suit.  It is so you can have a healthy body and mind.  So you can be active and live a long healthy life.

First, you need to prepare your mind.  Write down what you want from this journey.  Write down your goals.  Find inspirational quotes and print them out and put them on your bathroom mirror.  Put them on your refrigerator.  Put them in your car or your gym bag.  Say them over and over to yourself!

Second, prepare by figuring out what you consume that is not healthy and take it out of your life.  I don’t mean carbs.  I don’t mean cutting anything out of your life forever either.  Except soda!  If you drink soda…stop that NOW!  You need to find a balance.  You might need to cut some things out in the beginning but as your continue you can add back some of those items in proper portions.  Start by getting on my fitness pal app or something like it.  This is a way to track everything you consume.  You will put all of your info in and set your goals and you will quickly see what foods you need to cut out or swap for better choices.  Commit to this for at least two weeks to really grasp what you should be eating.  Start drinking 1/2 your body weight in water.  If your 200 lbs you should be drinking 100 oz. of water a day.  It might sound like a lot but your journey is worth it!  You are worth it!  Prepare your meals ahead of time!  Make lists when you go to the store and stick with them.  Pack proper portioned snacks and have them with you at all times.  When your going out to a restaurant look up the menu ahead of time and make the best choices you can so you can enjoy being out but staying on your journey!  No cheat days!  Treat yourself to something every day as long as it’s the right portion size and you are staying within your proper calorie intake.  Don’t binge or over indulge with a cheat day.

Third, prepare to make time in your busy life for fitness.  This journey will go much faster if you add some time of activity every day or at least 5 days a week.  Go treat yourself to some comfortable gym clothes.  You are worth it!  Get yourself a good pair of sneakers!  Promise you will thank me for that!  The weather is warm…get out and walk.  Run, ride your bike!  Join the gym!  Most gyms have great deals in the summer because most people prefer to be outside doing their activity.  Walk the dog.  Just get up off the couch and move!  Commit to moving for at least 20 minutes a day.

Prepare yourself!  Prepare for a tough journey.  Prepare to falter we are only human.  Prepare to get back to your journey.  This is going to be one of the hardest but most rewarding things you will ever do for yourself.  Be prepared to make it life long!  I know you are worth it!  Now show yourself that you are!

PS

Please comment on this blog and tell about your journey and I will randomly pick one winner and send you a “because you can” shirt:)

2 thoughts on “Preparedness

  1. My journey started in December. I’ve lost 22lbs slowly. A little to slow for my liking but I hear it’s the healthiest way. Lately I have felt chaotic and lost. I try to eat the right things but somehow I feel like it’s not enough if I can’t get to the gym or do any kind of exercise, so instead I eat a little of what I probably shouldn’t be having. Does that make sense?
    Getting my head back in the game though. I got a second chance at life can’t throw it away.

  2. I love this blog I really look forward to reading them. I have a new best friend GREEN TEA! No more diet soda. I grew up very healthy, played sports until my third year of college and then injurys and surgerys derailed me for years. I can relate with the blog where you always feel you need to do everything for your kids and family and let yourself go to the back burner. In order for me to be the best for my family I need to get my old self back. For the last 10 years I have been living in a strangers body. Keep the blog coming you are an inspiration and I am so proud of you!!!

Leave a Reply

