Oh summer…

Balancing schedules during the summer seems more difficult than during the school year!  Between camp, tutoring, a puppy, swimming lessons and work there isn’t much time left in the day!  This stuff all makes our journey that much harder to stay on!  The journey to make good decisions, exercise, healthy shopping and cooking.  Then there is the constant temptation at every BBQ or evening out!  Who wants to be the one that can’t eat what everyone else is eating or can’t have a drink with friends.  So we indulge and enjoy.  That is what life is about!  Enjoying it whether it is food, times with family or friends or otherwise.  So how do you stay on your journey and find a balance?  I try to be very conscious of what I cook for myself at every meal.  I workout and do more cardio then I would normally do when I know I am going out or if I went out the day or evening before.  There has to be a balance.  You all know I love ice cream and what better time to enjoy an ice cream cone then summer!  So I eat my ice cream and sometimes feel a ping of regret but I realize it’s all about balance and enjoying life!

I have come to the conclusion that being this is my second summer in this “new body” I have become very judgemental about myself.  Last summer it was a new summer for me to enjoy with my “new body”!  I was so proud and so excited to show it off on so many levels.  The bikini took until the end of the summer but all in all I was very proud.  This summer I have spent a lot of time harshly judging myself and wondering if I should wear certain things.  Its like I lost all this weight and look at other woman and wonder should I be thinner?  Should I be more toned?  Shouldn’t I have abs?  So this swirling battle in my mind goes round and round.  I come out of it knowing that I have worked my ass of for who and what I am today and I am still proud.  I am happy with where I am and that I can enjoy my life eating and drinking for special occasions.  Yes it would be nice to have abs!  Yes it would be nice to be thinner but the real truth is I am 38 and I had two kids and I look pretty darn good!  So I am working on calming my thoughts and embracing myself as I am!  I will probably always want more which will keep my goals set high and there is nothing wrong with that as long as I can love the body I am in because I worked hard for it!

Enjoy your summer!  Keep your journey going strong!  Try something new!  A new food or a new exercise!  Most of all love yourself!  Take off your cover up and wear your bikini!  No regrets cause fall will be here before you know it!

Leave a Reply

